Gary: No Matter How Many Scholars’ Books You Read, You Still Need the Holy Spirit To Believe the Truth Claims of Christianity

I was recently discussing the evidence for the Resurrection with a Christian blogger, but before getting very far at all into the subject and without even asking my educational background on the subject, he said:

“Gary, you haven’t read enough scholarship.”

Oh my.  How many times have I heard that statement from Christians!  I then posted a list of all the books I have read by Christian scholars on this subject (it is getting rather lengthy, I am proud to say).

The Christian was taken back.  He was forced to change tactics.  He finally responded with…

“Gary, no matter how many scholars’ books you read, you will never see the truth of Christianity unless the Holy Spirit reveals it to you.”

“That’s it!  That’s it!” I said to myself.  “That’s just what I expected.  No matter how many scholars’ books I read, it will never be enough for Christians.  It will never be enough until I agree with them.  And if I don’t agree with them, it is because their (holy) ghost has not worked his magic on my brain.”

Magic.

Magic is not real, folks.  Magic is for children.

If the truth claims of Christianity were true based on evidence, Christians wouldn’t need to appeal to magic-working ghosts.  So the real truth is that the validity of Christianity has nothing to do with evidence, my friends.  The validity of Christianity is based on luring you in with promises of love (or scaring you in with promises of eternal punishment) to convince you to believe first, and then pointing you to (biased) evidence that supports their beliefs.

That is the methodology of a cult.  That is not the methodology of a rational belief system.  Dear Reader:  Just as with every other claim that you confront in life, believe or disbelieve the claims of Christianity based on evidence, not based on emotional appeals and stories of ghosts.

6 thoughts on “Gary: No Matter How Many Scholars’ Books You Read, You Still Need the Holy Spirit To Believe the Truth Claims of Christianity

  1. If Evangelicals believe the Bible, then this guy right. The unwashed, uncircumcised Philistines of the world are dead in trespasses and sins. The Bible says the natural man understands not the things of God. Why? Because he doesn’t have the Holy Spirit to teach and guide him. Funny, however, that this same Holy Spirit doesn’t keep Evangelicals from “sinning.” If God living inside of you can’t keep you from “sinning”, it is fair to wonder if this God exists.

    I’ve had a few people take the “I don’t have the Holy Spirit, so I can’t understand the Bible” approach with me. What they are telling me is that the moment Jesus and I signed our divorce papers, all my knowledge about the Bible and theology was raptured away and now I know nothing. Everything I learned in Bible college, all of the knowledge I gained from reading the Bible from cover to cover dozens of time, all the knowledge I gained as I studied for the thousands of sermons I preached, all the knowledge I gained from reading hundreds and hundreds of theology books….all of this knowledge disappeared the moment I said I no longer believe. This view is like scenes in Men in Black where they wipe someone’s memory. Is that what happened to me, God magically — there’s that word, Gary — wiped my mind of any knowledge related to the Bible?

    I know what I know, and therein lies the problem. Evangelicals know, despite their magical ideas that I am conversant in all things Evangelical. Want to change my mind? Tell me something I don’t know. Make a new theological/apologetical argument I haven’t heard. Cough up some evidence. An appearance by Jesus at my home for dinner would be nice. 😀😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very well said, Bruce. I believe that the real basis of belief for the majority of Christians is not evidence (or the magical powers of their invisible ghost god) but the intensity of their emotions regarding their religious beliefs. They are absolutely certain that the claims of Christianity are true simply because their feelings say so. No amount of evidence is going to prove their feelings wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Gary,

        “… intensity of their emotions …”

        As many of them know, subjective certainty and objective knowledge are two different things, yet they cling to subjective certainty because of (?????) maybe fear of what might happen to them if they abandoned their subjective certainty .

        Regards,

        John Arthur

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

