Burying the Hatchet with My Former LCMS Pastor

For those of you who have followed this blog for several years you are aware that when I deconverted from Christianity in the spring of 2014 I and my LCMS pastor did not part on the best of terms.  I did not blame him for my deconversion but I was unhappy with him nonetheless.

I am happy to report that I and my former pastor, John Bombaro, have “buried the hatchet”.  I no longer bear any ill will towards him.  In fact, we have decided to exchange ongoing, but private communication.  I doubt very seriously that he has any new argument for orthodox Christianity that I have not seen during my intense study of the subject in the last three years that could change my mind, and I don’t expect that my evidence against Christianity will seriously shake his faith.  But polite, honest, open-minded discussion between persons of “opposing camps” can be beneficial to both parties.  All knowledge is good.

4 thoughts on “Burying the Hatchet with My Former LCMS Pastor

  1. Hi Gary,

    This is welcome news. I wish that more conservative evangelicals were like your former pastor and were willing to enter into dialogue with you, without feeling the need to try and reconvert you. I wish that they would be more respectful of your comments and recognize your analytical abilities and talents that you display on this website.

    Shalom,
    John Arthur

    Like

Leave a Reply

