Is Truth only found through Faith?

Let’s take another break from my review of Richard Bauckham’s book to respond to a comment left on this blog today by a kind, well-meaning Christian named Nathan:

Only by grace through faith can you be saved, (Eph. 2:8) We have faith and the assurance of hope that is unseen because faith is only given to you by the Holy Spirit. Human reason cannot explain this. Jesus died and rose for you. Stop trying to reason things you cannot understand by human reason. Spiritual blindness cannot perceive the Gospel of Jesus Christ crucified for our sins, buried and risen on the third day. The answer is always Jesus, Forgiveness of sins and Eternal Life is in only given through Him, and no one can earn this grace, Truth, wisdom because it is a gift . . . faith can only be given and received by faith given. Open your heart to Jesus. Philosophy, human reason and human wisdom and knowledge cannot save you, but God’s Word, God’s love and grace in Christ Jesus blood shed for you and me and the world so all may believe is the only Truth and this love never fails. Trust in Jesus, ask Him to show you His Grace and Truth, He will reveal Himself to you, I promise . . . Prayers for you brother Gary to receive Jesus in this season of burden and confusion, He is with you, shout your cries, worries, doubts, fears and pain to Him . . . God is calling you to believe in Christ the King as your Lord and Savior! Jesus is God!

“Immediately the father of the child cried out and said [to Jesus], “I believe; help my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24)

“For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures.” (1 Corinthians 15:3-4)

Gary:  Is Nathan correct?  Is there a secret truth that can only be known by “faith”?  Is this ultimate truth unattainable by using my brain (reason) and only attainable by using my heart (faith)?  Let’s substitute a couple of key words in Nathan’s comment and evaluate this truth claim:

Only by grace through faith in ALLAH can you be saved, We have faith and the assurance of hope that is unseen because faith is only given to you by ALLAH. Human reason cannot explain this. Stop trying to reason things you cannot understand by human reason. Spiritual blindness cannot perceive the many truths written in the HOLY KORAN OF ALLAH. The answer is always ALLAH, Forgiveness of sins and Eternal Life is in only given through Him, and no one can earn this grace, Truth, wisdom because it is a gift . . . faith can only be given and received by faith given. Open your heart to ALLAH. Philosophy, human reason and human wisdom and knowledge cannot save you, but God’s Word, THE HOLY KORAN, was given so all may believe that ALLAH is the only Truth and his love never fails. Trust in ALLAH, ask Him to show you His Grace and Truth, He will reveal Himself to you, I promise . . . Prayers for you brother Gary to receive ALLAH in this season of burden and confusion, He is with you, shout your cries, worries, doubts, fears and pain to Him . . . ALLAH is calling you to believe. ALLAH is God!

Gary: Why shouldn’t I believe the appeals of Muslims to simply trust in the “truths” of the Koran by faith? Or appeals by Mormons to believe the “truths” of the Book of Mormon by faith? I will bet that you will counter the “faith appeals” by these two religions with human reason using EVIDENCE to persuade me that Islam and Mormonism do not teach the truth. You will attempt to use EVIDENCE and reason to persuade me that Islam and Mormonism are built upon silly superstitions and maybe even outright lies.

So why, dear friend, shouldn’t I use reason and EVIDENCE to examine YOUR truth claims???

Let’s hear directly from Muslims and there appeals to faith in an ancient holy book as the key to finding ultimate Truth:

“Quran is a book that is the word of Allah (God) and there is no doubt about its divinity. The claim is made by no one but Allah Himself.

what is quran

This is the Book (the Quran), whereof there is no doubt, a guidance to those who are Al-Muttaqoon (the pious and righteous persons who fear Allah much (abstain from all kinds of sins and evil deeds which He has forbidden) and love Allah much (perform all kinds of good deeds which He has ordained)).

Source:  http://www.iqrasense.com/quran/what-is-quran-allah-describes-the-quran-in-the-quran.html

Gary:  So, the Koran says that the Koran (Quran) is the source for ultimate truth so the Koran must be right.  This is no different from the Christian, such as Nathan, who tells us that we must believe in the claims of the Christian holy book, the Bible, because the Bible is right.  And how do we know the Bible is right?  Answer:  In the same manner that the Muslim believes that the Koran is right:  Because the holy book says so!

 

3 thoughts on “Is Truth only found through Faith?

  1. And maybe if you read the Book of Mormon, the TRUTH will be revealed to you like it was to this man:

    Title of post: “If you Really Want to Know, You will Know”

    “I was 18 years old when I became a member of the Church. The Book of Mormon played a key role in my conversion. At the time, I was searching for new ideas that could explain the world around me. I remember my college professors taking very materialistic approaches in their teaching. I started to lean toward agnostic ideas about the existence of God. One day I noticed a sky-blue book that a couple of missionaries had left in our home about six years before. It was the Book of Mormon. Along with the book, they had left a pamphlet about the Prophet Joseph Smith and also some instructions about how to pray to God.

    I started reading the Book of Mormon. I was only a few verses into the book, in 1 Nephi, when I felt something different. I began to debate between my feelings and my intellect. So I decided to ask God in prayer. This was the first time in my life that I had prayed on my knees. The experience that followed became one of the most sacred of my life. A feeling of such overwhelming happiness filled me that I knew in my heart that the Book of Mormon was more than just a book. It was a book of divine origin. It had to be the word of God. I later came to understand that the feeling was the Spirit testifying of its truthfulness. While some may have similar experiences, there are different ways one can come to know that the Book of Mormon is true.”

    Source: https://www.lds.org/liahona/2011/10/if-you-really-want-to-know-you-will-know?lang=eng

    Gary: So it doesn’t seem like feelings and intuition are good methods of finding the truth, because very intelligent, sincere people seem to find ultimate truth in polar opposite belief systems such as Islam, orthodox Christianity, and Mormonism.

    I suggest a better way to discover Truth: reason and evidence.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

