Debating Nick the Christian on the Claims of Christianity

A Christian named Nick has challenged me to debate the claims of Christianity.  I am willing to debate him here and will let him begin on any topic related to the Christian belief system that he chooses.  To keep the debate on topic, I will only respond to Nick’s comments and no others.  Others are welcome to post comments if they choose but don’t be offended if neither I nor Nick respond. 

I have only one stipulation, Nick.  Please don’t ask me to read someone else’s (apologist, theologian, etc.) book or article for your argument.  Make the argument yourself.  You can quote your experts if you like, just don’t refer me to read someone’s book or article as part of your debate strategy.

May the best belief system win!

Update:

It seems Nick doesn’t trust me, so I have agreed to debate him on TheologyWeb.  I will provide the link to this debate here.  I have copied my opening statement:

Ok, Nick. You win. I’m here.

I have three stipulations:

1. Don’t ask me to read someone’s book (an apologist, theologian, etc.) as part of your debate strategy. Make the argument yourself. I don’t mind if you quote them or even copy and paste an excerpt, but I’m not interested in reading your favorite apologist’s book.

2. I’m not interested in playing philosophical head games. What I mean by this is that I am not going to debate you on such silly premises as “How do you know, Gary, that you exist and are not simply a figment of someone else’s imagination?”. My basis of reality is the scientific method and reason, which is the predominate worldview in western civilization. I am open to the possibility of the supernatural, I do not exclude it as impossible, I just do not believe it as PROBABLE. If your initial argument is to attempt to force me to prove that I exist, or some such silly philosophical trick, I’m not interested.

3. If we are going to debate the “evidence” for the Resurrection, we must agree on what constitutes “evidence”. My definition of “evidence” is the type of information that educated persons of western civilization would require to believe any other historical claim. For instance, people in western civilization do not believe that Alexander the Great invaded India simply because they have a “presence” within themselves that tells them he did.

Agreed?

8 thoughts on “Debating Nick the Christian on the Claims of Christianity

  1. You have received an unbiased offer of debate. Do you have the courage or honesty to debate where you are not in control? Or are you a fake.

    Like

  2. You will be relieved to know I do not have an account over there so you will not be hearing my kind, genteel words of sage wisdom and enlightenment. I will be watching though.

    Like

  3. “Don't ask me to read someone's book (an apologist, theologian, etc.) as part of your debate strategy. Make the argument yourself. I don't mind if you quote them or even copy and paste an excerpt, but I'm not interested in reading your favorite apologist's book.”

    This is actually a genetic fallacy…which is a fallacy.

    If an apologist makes an excellent argument that no other apologist can match then there is no reason for Nick or anyone else to try to outdue said apologist.

    You need to stop worrying about the origin of who is making the argument, and deal with the argument itself, especially when it makes Christianity more plausible.

    Like

  4. Note that I did not say that Nick cannot quote or use excerpts from an apologist, just don't ask me to read the entire book.

    I have a suggestion for you: Keep your panties on and watch/read the debate.

    Like

  5. Let the bunching of the panties begin!

    Tuesday, July 21, 2015… A day which will live in infancy.

    One small step for man, one giant peep for mankind.

    Momma always said “life is like a block of chocolates”, you never know which one is gonna get you. Momma was a racist.

    Anywho….

    Like

  6. No….You said “Don't ask me to read someone's book “

    That is not the same thing as

    “don't ask me to read the entire book.”

    You are backpedalling and it's amusing to watch.

    As far as the debate goes, I think that you should just admit that you pretend to know things that you don't really know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

