Do you Believe in Ghosts? Take the Test.


 


1.  Do you believe that ghosts can pass through locked doors?
2.  Do you believe that ghosts can pass in and out of the bodies of human beings?
3.  Do you believe that ghosts, while inside the body of a human being, and cause the human being to suddenly start speaking a foreign language?
4.  Do you believe that ghosts can break iron chains?
5.  Do you believe that ghosts can break people out of prison?
6.  Do you believe that ghosts can create fire?
7.  Do you believe that ghosts can take up residence inside the bodies of human beings and give silent signals to those human beings of what he or she should do and not do?
8.  Do you believe that some ghosts have existed forever?
9.  Do you believe that ghosts can have offspring with humans?

Most of you said “no” to each of these silly, superstitious “ghost” questions, didn’t you?  So I have one more “ghost” question for you to see if you do or do not believe in ghosts:

10.  Do you believe that there is one particular ghost that is a HOLY ghost?

If you say “yes” to this last question, then you are actually saying “yes” to ALL the ghost questions above, because this particular “holy” ghost is alleged to have performed each of the above supernatural feats. 

Dear Reader:  There are no such things as ghosts.  They are a superstitious invention of ancient, scientifically ignorant peoples.  Educated, 21st century people should not believe in ghosts…ANY ghosts…including ones who are allegedly “holy”.

Descent of the Holy Ghost
by Titian

16 thoughts on “Do you Believe in Ghosts? Take the Test.

  1. I will if you can prove to me that this ghost exists.

    I don't think that you or anyone else can. Your belief in this particular ghost is no different than the reason for belief in most ghosts: unfounded, science-defying superstitions and anecdotal, personal experiences.

    Like

  2. Because a world based on faith is a world of chaos. WHOSE faith should we follow, for instance? Yours? A Muslim's? A Mormon's? A Jew's? A world based on reason and science is not perfect, but it is definitely more reliable, stable, and orderly than one based on faith.

    I cannot DISPROVE the existence of ghosts, but neither can I disprove the existence of the following:

    -goblins
    -sorcerers
    -witches
    -leprechauns
    -unicorns
    -the Tooth Fairy
    -Santa Klaus
    -etc.

    If we base our beliefs on faith, and not scientific evidence, then it is impossible to discount the existence of any of the beings listed above, nor the existence of the thousands of gods and goddesses to whom millions of people all over the world say their prayers.

    If you want to live your life based on faith, I support your right to do so. But if you tell me that your faith-based belief system is the one and only truth, and, that I and every other human being on earth are going to be punished in some fashion for not adopting your faith-based belief system, then I must ask you to prove it. And if you are unable to prove it with solid evidence, not hearsay and anecdotal personal experiences, I must place as much value, and pay as much attention to, your faith-based beliefs as I do to any other world superstition involving ghosts and ghouls.

    Like

  3. Gary said: Because a world based on faith is a world of chaos. WHOSE faith should we follow, for instance? Yours? A Muslim's? A Mormon's? A Jew's?

    Me say: You seem fine with suggesting we base our world on your faith in science.

    Gary said: A world based on reason and science is not perfect, but it is definitely more reliable, stable, and orderly than one based on faith.

    Me say: According to your faith in reason and science?

    Gary said: I cannot DISPROVE the existence of ghosts, but neither can I disprove the existence of the following

    Me say: You cannot prove the origin of the universe either but do you deny it exists?

    Gary said: If we base our beliefs on faith, and not scientific evidence, then it is impossible to discount the existence of any of the beings listed above, nor the existence of the thousands of gods and goddesses to whom millions of people all over the world say their prayers.

    Me say: Gary you are basing your beliefs on faith, your faith is in the ability of science to provide the answers for the who,where,why,who and how(s) of life. Your science can be just as wrong as my faith.

    Gary said: If you want to live your life based on faith, I support your right to do so. But if you tell me that your faith-based belief system is the one and only truth,

    Me say: Is this not what you're telling me? You're saying your faith in science is the one and only way. Pot meet kettle.

    Gary said: that I and every other human being on earth are going to be punished in some fashion for not adopting your faith-based belief system, then I must ask you to prove it.

    Me say: I didn't say it, God said it.

    Gary said: And if you are unable to prove it with solid evidence, not hearsay and anecdotal personal experiences, I must place as much value, and pay as much attention to, your faith-based beliefs as I do to any other world superstition involving ghosts and ghouls.

    Me say: Prove to me science is the perfect, supreme way of life and that I should trust my life and possible eternal soul to the science of man?

    Like

  4. You mean to tell me I typed out that windbag reply and all I get is this in return? I define faith as total reliance/dependance/trust upon someone or something. How do you define faith?

    Like

  5. I can agree with that definition.

    I rely on, depend upon, and place my trust in the scientific method. I will post a definition of the scientific method below.

    Like

  6. The steps of the scientific method:

    1. Make an observation or observations.
    2. Ask questions about the observations and gather information.
    3. Form a hypothesis — a tentative description of what’s been observed, and make predictions based on that hypothesis.
    4. Test the hypothesis and predictions in an experiment that can be reproduced.
    5. Analyze the data and draw conclusions; accept or reject the hypothesis or modify the hypothesis if necessary.
    6. Reproduce the experiment until there are no discrepancies between observations and theory. The reproducibility of published experiments is the foundation of science. No reproducibility – no science.

    Some key underpinnings to the scientific method:

    • The hypothesis must be testable and falsifiable. Falsifiable means that there must be a possible negative answer to the hypothesis.
    • Research must involve deductive reasoning and inductive reasoning. Deductive reasoning is the process of using true premises to reach a logical true conclusion while inductive reasoning takes the opposite approach.
    • An experiment should include a dependent variable (which does not change) and an independent variable (which does change).
    • An experiment should include an experimental group and a control group. The control group is what the experimental group is compared against.

    Like

  7. So what's the difference between you placing your trust in science and me having my faith/trust in God? Do you not see how your admission to having faith/trust in science causes a problem with what you said here?:

    “A world based on reason and science is not perfect, but it is definitely more reliable, stable, and orderly than one based on faith.”

    You're saying I should live in a world governed by your faith/trust while decrying the injustice of living in a world governed by my faith/trust (Something I have never suggested by the way). For you to say your faith/trust in this scientific method which by-the-way is man made and man defined is somehow THE only way is no different than me saying Christ is THE only way. You cannot have your cake and eat it too. You CAN however have your pie and eat it too if you'd like. Just not your cake.

    Like

  8. I don't recall saying that a reality based on the scientific method is the ONLY way. I personally think it is a superior method, for me, to understand my universe. If you choose to understand the universe through ancient religious texts, that is certainly your choice, and I support your right to do so.

    I still assert that a world based on science and reason is more reliable, stable, and orderly than a world based on faith for several reasons, but this reason is probably the most important: there isn't ONE system of faith in the world but thousands. There is only one scientific method.

    Like

  9. And that faith/trust in that one scientific method is part of the many faiths in the world. Basically I agree with what you say in that I fully support your right just as you support mine. Let's go have a cheeseburger and see if we can pick up some chicks.

    Like

  10. Religion usually obstructs scientific advances.

    One thing about science is that it is the same everywhere in the world regardless of ethnicity or religion. There is no such thing as “American science”, “Chinese science”, or “Iranian science”. Science is the same, with the same theories and laws, everywhere.

    Like

  11. True! Science isn't an American thing only, neither is Christianity though. When I said pick up chicks I didn't mean the ladies, babes, gals. I meant I need to get some hatchlings. I'm a dairy farmer and as far as I know the only one in my region who caters to the chicken milk market. It's tedious work but the rewards are many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

