Jesus did NOT want to Die. Three of the Gospels say so.

Did Jesus want to die?  Surprisingly, there are clear indications in the Gospels that Jesus didn’t want to die.  Therefore, Jesus apparently did not believe that there was a messianic prophecy that required his death.  This undermines the credibility of the verses attributed to Jesus requiring his death in “fulfillment of Prophecy.”  John, Mark, and Matthew reported that Jesus used a “cup” analogy to deal with the issue of his potential death:

John:  At Jesus’ arrest, Peter took out his sword and cut off the ear of the High Priest’s servant, Malchus.  Jesus then said to Peter, “Put your sword into its sheath; shall I not drink the cup which the father has given me?”  (John 18:3-12) 

Mark:  Jesus prayed, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You.  Take this cup away from me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”  (Mark 14:36)

Matthew:  Jesus said, “…my soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death.  Stay here and watch with me.”  Jesus prayed, “O my Father, if it is possible let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.”

Analysis:  It seems clear from these verses that Jesus didn’t want to die.

Mark’s Jesus said, “Take this cup away from me…not what I will.”  Matthew’s Jesus said, “O my Father, if it is possible let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will.”  In both cases, Jesus clearly stated that his own death was, “not what I will.”  In each case Jesus implored God to “take this cup away from me.”  Clearly the cup symbolized the requirement that he must die.  These verses make clear that Jesus didn’t want to die but was willing to do so if God required it.

Christian theology teaches that belief in Jesus is the basis of “salvation” for sin because Jesus intentionally “died for our sins.”  Therefore it is highly significant that it was not Jesus’ will that he must die, but reluctantly would do so if God required it.  This is extremely problematic, since according to Christian theology Jesus was a deity, the “son of God” who came into the world to intentionally die for our sins.  If, in essence, Jesus died against his will and merely acquiesced to God’s will, can Christians really claim that Jesus intentionally died for their sins?  Finally, Christian theology asserts that Jesus is a member of a divine trinity and that each “person” in the trinity has the same essence.  If this is true, how could the will of Jesus be different from the will of God?

                                                  —orthodox Jewish author, Asher Norman
                                                         “Twenty-Six Reasons why Jews don’t Believe in Jesus”

Leave a Reply

