Christians explain why I Deconverted

I grew up fundamentalist Baptist. When I was eighteen, I and my parents became evangelicals (less up-tight Baptists, just without the name). I became an orthodox Lutheran only about four years ago.

When I deconverted from Christianity last year, this is what I was told by different groups of Christians:

The orthodox Lutherans said I deconverted because I was still an evangelical/fundamentalist in my thinking. I had never REALLY been a true Lutheran. The evangelicals said I deconverted because I had never really learned to listen to Jesus speak to me in my heart. Catholics blamed my deconversion on Protestant “sola scriptura”, and the fundamentalist Baptists said I had never been a Christian to begin with!

One thought on “Christians explain why I Deconverted

Leave a Reply

